Prague

12th – 14th April

After three hectic and a little messy days in Berlin, I packed up and left for Prague.  I got the train at 11.10, no changes and no reservation needed. However, I apparently snuck on first class for almost the whole trip without knowing. I had to go back to second class about half an hour before we arrived in Prague, so I had a pretty luxurious travel.
I arrived in Prague a few minutes before the clock struck 15.30, got out 10 000 CZK when I was supposed to get out 1000 CZK to pay for my 200 CZK travel card, bought a public transport ticket, and got on my way to the hostel by tram. One thing I’ll say is that most of the trams in Prague had narrow and steep steps, so getting on with quite a bulky suitcase wasn’t ideal. Once on, I just had to make sure to get off at the right stop, and then find the hostel,  Hostel Fontana.
Once at the hostel, which was very easy to find, the very friendly staff checked me in to my 8 bed female dorm. It was a very decent room with private shower and toilet. The two were also separated, so that you could use the toilet even if someone was showering, which is always good.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Since I arrived quite early in the day, I had time to explore a little bit in the evening. I went out to find dinner first, which ended up being some delicious summer rolls that I ate in a park, whilst looking at the superb tourist map I got at the hostel. The map was a use it-map. I’d actually stumbled upon their website whilst doing some research for my Interrail, and then forgotten that they existed. The idea is that locals share their insides to European cities and you can use their tips and tricks for free. I thought the map was excellent, and it was really easy spotting the worthy attractions.
I was very surprised by how small Prague felt, and how easy the city was to navigate. It felt like a very comfortable city, and I felt very safe. It seemed most of what I wanted to see wasn’t ever more than about a 10 minute walk away from one another, it was so accessible.
I saw loads of beautiful buildings and areas in a few hours on my first da, like the Old Town Square, The Jewish Museum, The music hall, and the Prasna Brana. I didn’t cross the river, and decided to leave that to the following day. I finished of quite early, and went back to the hostel to sleep.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

The next day I left the hostel a little late (are you seeing a reoccurring theme, or nah?), because I needed to book somewhere to sleep for the last week of my travel, as I finally figured out how I was going to do it. I had a walking tour map, and saw even more beautiful buildings. It also led me up a hell of a lot of stairs, but the view was worth it! I love views. I just think there’s something magical about seeing a whole city just laid out in front of you. You can spot where you’ve been, and seek out where you want to go, and it all seems so simple and tiny from up high. Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with s3 preset

After having seen what I wanted to see, I just walked a little here and there. Planned exploring is good and all, but unplanned exploring is underrated. I don’t think anything’s better than just walking around and turning right and left instinctively. I ended up going to the national gallery, which honestly was a bit of wasted money. It was a good museum, and it was huge, a very impressive collection and some really good handy work, but I find that old art gets a little bit boring after a couple of floors, you feel me? Anyway, I can say that I’ve been, eh?

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset
Back at the hostel for a little break, I discovered that Prague had a second view point, and like I said, I love views, so that’s naturally where I headed. It was a quite a bit further than the last view point, this was like a proper walk, and probably took me about 45 minutes with no hurry. It was such a beautiful walk, and there were incredible views on the way up. The path was surrounded by beautiful nature; trees of different shapes and sizes, ponds, and flowers. The very top was full of trees, so no view, but they had a beautiful church where they held a communion (as it was Easter), and I stopped by and watched and listened a little bit. There was also a viewing tower there which you could pay to get into, but I thought I’d had a more than good enough view for free. I chilled a little bit at the top, just taking in the moment, before I started the walk down as I was starting to get pretty hungry.

Processed with VSCO with s3 presetProcessed with VSCO with s2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c3 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset
After my meal I went back to the hostel, and got ready to leave in the morning. I really loved and thoroughly enjoyed Prague. It was so beautiful and relaxed. I could’ve happily stayed in Prague for another 5 days or more, I obviously couldn’t, but at least I know that I’ll be back. I want to keep on exploring this city, and I can really see myself keep on coming back forever.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

 

Leave a comment